Congratulations to retiring Chairman John Turner of 1st Fairfield Scout Group, who was awarded the Bar to the Award for Merit for 30 years’ service to the Scouts by Jan Brooker, District Commissioner of Biggleswade District. The presentation took place at Fairfield Community Hall on 21 July at the group’s AGM and was attended by all the young people of the 1st Fairfield Scout group, their leaders and parents, and Nick Andrews, Chairman of Fairfield Parish Council.

John had previously served as an Assistant District Commissioner at Lea Valley District and a Scout Leader with 1st Someries from 1980 to 2001. He has been Chairman of the 1st Fairfield Scouts since it opened in 2013, and has been an ardent supporter of the group throughout, attending many events and working tirelessly organising raffles and fundraisers. John will remain a member of the Group Executive Committee. Alister Scott is stepping into the role of Group Chairman from September.

Volunteers are always needed – if scouting is something you would like to be involved in please email Andrew Harris, Group Scout Leader on